Skip to content ↓


English Curriculum

Our English Curriculum provides all pupils with high quality lessons aligned to the National Curriculum for English 2014, so they are equipped to communicate through spoken and written language, not only here at Huttoft, but also for the next phase of their education and beyond. Our aim is to immerse children in a world of rich and expressive language – we want them to love words and be able to articulate their ideas and knowledge confidently and competently!


Lessons on grammar, punctuation and spelling ensure pupils understand the conventions and terminology they need to meet age related expectations as set out in the National Curriculum English Programmes of Study.  Lots of opportunities to practise these important aspects of writing take place throughout the week, with children developing skills to edit and improve their own writing.  By modelling Standard English in written and spoken forms, we show children the formal style needed for their writing, and they learn when it is appropriate to use informal language. Through our exciting Cornerstones projects, children have real purpose for writing across a range of genres; they learn to present their writing in different ways, using presentational features that guide their reader and adapt language and style to suit their audience and purpose.  Our children love to read their finished pieces with expression and pride; they can evaluate their work and that of others making reference to learning objectives.  Children are encouraged to ‘magpie’ ideas from their reading and this highlights the overarching importance of reading every day in school!

New and exciting vocabulary, linked to project learning is displayed in each classroom. Children are encouraged to practise the spelling of these words through purposeful writing tasks across the curriculum. Grapheme Phoneme Correspondences (GPCs), Common Exception Words (CEW), High Frequency Words (HFW) and spelling rules are taught in daily Monster Phonics lessons in EYFS and Key Stage One. Grammar and Punctuation lessons are taught within Phonics in Key Stage One and discretely in Key Stage Two. We have recently started using the 'Sounds and Syllables' spelling scheme (Jason Wade Education) to teach discrete lessons in spelling in Key Stage Two.     




At Huttoft we agree wholeheartedly with Dr Seuss: reading opens the door to imaginary and real worlds, echoing our purpose in broadening horizons.  The journey begins with picture books and hearing stories and rhymes in Nursery and the pleasure of being read to continues throughout our school for we believe strongly in children hearing skilled practitioners modelling reading.  Each class has a class story /author linked to their Cornerstones’ project and this facilitates discussion and cross curricular learning.

Reading takes place through shared and whole class guided reading activities, and one to one reading sessions. In Reception, Year 1 and Year 2 we follow the Monster Phonics approach to reading and implement the '3x weekly reads' using progressive Monster Phonics decodable books, aligned to phonics phases.


Children are taught the skills of reading (outlined in the National Curriculum and the KS1 and KS2 test domains) through the use of VIPERS which were created by Rob Smith (The Literacy Shed). The Reading Vipers can be used by both KS1 and KS2 with a little adaption. The main difference being in the S.

​Sequence – KS1

Summarise – KS2

​In KS1, ‘Explain’; is not one of the content domains, rather it asks children why they have come to a certain conclusion, to explain their preferences, thoughts and opinions about a text.

​In KS2, the Explain section covers the additional content domains of 2F, 2G and 2H which are not present in KS1.

VIPERS Reading lessons are taught from KS1 (once the children have completed the Monster Phonics decodable reading materials) through to Y6. The lessons are taught through whole class reading sessions.

What are VIPERS?

VIPERS is an anagram to aid the recall of the 6 reading domains as part of the UK’s reading curriculum.  They are the key areas which we feel children need to know and understand in order to improve their comprehension of texts.

VIPERS stands for: 


From Monster Phonics decodable readers, linked to phonics phases, through to independent free readers, children at Huttoft benefit from a growing and diverse library. Every classroom has a dedicated reading area and all children have access to the school library at least weekly. Each child has a reading record, and it is an expectation that parents and carers to listen to their child/ children read every day; we encourage this for all children, not just early readers, so that reading skills continue to grow.  It is essential that by the end of Y6 all pupils are enthusiastic readers, able to read fluently, and with confidence and stamina, in any subject, thus preparing them for the secondary phase of their education.