Back to top

Huttoft Primary School

Our Curriculum - A Typical Day in Nursery

The Early Years Foundation Stage 

Children entering Nursery begin a curriculum called the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). This curriculum begins from birth up the age of 5 years i.e. until the end of the Reception Year. The EYFS sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well, and are kept healthy and safe. It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives them the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

The EYFS curriculum is organised into seven areas of learning and development which are divided into:

The three prime areas:

  • Communication and Language Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development

These three areas of learning are fundamental, the foundation for other learning.

The four specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Art and Design

You will hear your child’s teacher talk about these different areas of learning along with the so called Characteristics of Effective Learning. These are the crucial characteristics which children need in order to learn and ones that we are focused upon encouraging and promoting in everything we do. They include being involved and concentrating, being motivated - to keep trying, enjoying and achieving what they set out to do, being willing to 'have a go’.

Each nursery is free to decide upon how to deliver the EYFS curriculum. We have chosen to use the EYFS non statutory guidance Development Matters to shape our provision. 

EYFS Statutory Framework - September 2023

Development Matters


A proud member of Horncastle Educational Trust